Artist of the moment…….Sue Coe

Sue Coe was born in Tamworth, England in the year 1951. I so enjoy artists who look to improve the lives of our animals friends. Coe takes her passion for animals to heart and is renowned for her works celebrating their plight as many species are dying out as human progress impedes their natural habitat. For her collegiate education Coe attended the royal College of Art located in London, England. Coe is a very avid printmaker and painter.

As a child her family lived close to a slaughterhouse thus forming her opinion about the treatment of animals.

In this clip a brief interview with Sue Coe and Jane Velez -Mitchell:

Coe can also be described as a Social Realist attacking such modern issues as A.I.D.S, September 11th , and war.

Sue Coe was elected to the National Academy of Design.

Price range information: Most works range from $1,000 to $12,000.

Sue Coe first had her art appear in the New York Times when she was 21 years old. This was the same year the artist moved to the United States to begin a career as an illustrator.

In this clip some works by Coe that signify her push animal rights:

I always enjoying when artists use their work to promote good causes and ideas they support.

D

3 Comments »

  1. Sue Coe is one of my favorites in this milieu & an inspiration.

  2. First off I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my ideas out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints?
    Kudos!

    • diattaart1 Said:

      One reason I wanted to do a blog and hopefully someday a book on artists is that it is one thing that connects everyone. I try to cover all forms of art, and even those that didn’t interest me before, when I find the human connection it excites me. I also paint everyday and by reading and studying about another successful artist it gives me inspiration. Yesterday I posted about a wonderful artist who worked with typography and made the first “Love” stamp, her name was Sister Mary Corita Kent. She was a nun, but left her order to become a full time artist. So today I will do a small painting using typography.
      I write first time in the morning as I live in the states and mountain standard time. Many of my readers are overseas and I just getting home from work as I am starting my day so hopefully the website can provide them with some “fun” nourishment after a hard days work! So my head isn’t full of thoughts first thing in the morning.
      Find something you love to talk about, then write about it.

      For me the most important thing is inspiration! Also important is a release. Everyone should have a topic that if you are having an awful day will still get you excited. If a person had a flat tire on the way home from work I encourage them to look at the website and read about the Japanese American artists who spent time at internment camps and realize life isn’t so bad!

      Another important thing about doing something creative is to do it everyday or at least 6 out of 7 days.

      Don’t limit yourself to a twitter number of 140 characters! Write and get the word out! Picture yourself telling a 2nd grader everything they want to know about the subject. A say a 2nd grader because kids will usually ask WHY, WHY, WHY and this will force you to keep your answers clear and precise.

      This was an inspiring note to receive and thanks!

      D


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

